1000 Years From Now, by I, John J

How unfortunate, the world has lost its beauty! People have forgotten the value in craftsmanship and color and design. Homes have been stripped of beauty and become cubic shapes of concrete and glass. UGLY! Cars are plain and only an engine, seats, and a single screen. UGLY! Music is loud and noisy. UGLY! I can’t listen to the new music, it’s all noise! Everything is junk from China. Plates, utensils, silverware, everything is made of plastic. Land has diminished to nothing, everywhere is apartments, and there are only a few single-family homes. Over a thousand years, people have neglected the beautiful Victorian, Tudor, Gothic, and Craftsman homes and furniture and they have diminished to intense rarity. Now they are very costly and only a few people can afford them. As I awake, I marvel at the detail of my Victorian home (I couldn’t live inside of the modern homes, so depressing. Or the apartments, no privacy), and I begin to appreciate the floral detailing and complex patterns that adorn the house. The wood floors, the wallpaper, the cornice trim, the detailed doorknobs and hinges, the colorful walls, and the grand wood burning fireplace. Everything! All these the new homes lack. All the new homes have gas or electric fireplaces, and people have forgotten the beauty and smell and sound of burning real wood, (wood has also become rare do to so much development and forest destruction. I can burn wood because my home is in a less densely populated area, and I have some land, which few people have due to its scarcity.) My furnishings also reflect the detail of the home. I look out my window and see my acres of lawn and forest which have become so rare, many people have never touched grass or seen trees before. I look in the distance and see the street, and all kinds of unnecessary, unusual new devices that people possess in this time. Robotic pets, which is a new device in which Chinese companies can spy on people and gather information, walk mechanically beside their owners. Thanks to all the new voice activated technologies, there is no privacy. Everything is constantly listening…. I jump into my car and go to the store. Everything is garbage. Nothing is worth buying. The food is all genetically modified, bioengineered, unhealthy, and tasteless. It’s too bad. As I walk in, I see the store is a mess. Everything is on the ground, the windows are broken, and lots of things are gone. I ask a cashier, “What a mess! What happened?”. She replied, “We were robbed again.” This was kind of normal, since there is constant crime, and robbers would constantly escape and be left alone since lawlessness was encouraged by the government. You couldn’t even walk in the street anymore. Well, no store today. As I drive back home, I open the windows but then right away close them. The city smells horrible thanks to all the stuff on the street. I drive back home, and admire my home’s beautifully decorated façade, and I realize my lifestyle is the exact opposite of everyone else. As I look at my Apple watch, I realize there is only one new invention I like, a true scratch resistant screen! Now that is very necessary advancement!


Comments

One response to “1000 Years From Now, by I, John J”

  1. Emily clay Avatar
    Emily clay

    I noticed that it doesn’t seem to smell good anymore.

    I liked that you were very descriptive.

    I wondered what kinds of unnecessary and unusual devices there were.

    I would suggest using paragraphs.

    Strong words phrases or literary devices were” and people have forgotten the beauty and smell and sound of burning real wood”.

Leave a comment